Skip to content

Green Tech

November 9, 2011

I was in Chicago this past weekend. When I am visiting another city I like to see what new and different technology products may be used in other parts of the country. I saw these Big Belly Solar Trash cans and I thought these were cool and they would be a great addition to our community also. The Big Belly solar trash cans use solar panels on the top to compost trash. These trash cans don’t need to be emptied as often and so they can save the city money by not having to empty the trash as often and also there is less trash to fill the landfills.

After seeing this green technology at work I got curious about other cool new green technologies that are in use around the country or could be used in the future.

That got me thinking about other green products and I went online to see what I could find. Here’s a clock that runs on water. All you do is put water in it instead of batteries and that generates power. Just open the fill cap and add water. Electrodes convert ions in the water into a current strong enough to power the clock for 3-months or more.

Finally, I read about this solar powered plane that NASA has built. It runs completely on solar energy.It’s called Pathfinder and it is operated by remote control, like a toy. It can stay up in the air for 14-15 hours. You can’t ride in it today but someday you will.

2 Comments
  1. Emerson permalink
    November 12, 2011 12:18 am

    thats cool

  2. Nate Marek permalink
    November 11, 2011 6:35 pm

    Karsten I really enjoyed listening to your show on the news. I also think the garbage cans in Chicago would be a great idea for northfield!!! Give a shout out to Nate and Sam your friends in the hallway.

Comments are closed.

